Blog Tour: Summer on the Italian Lakes by Lucy Coleman

About the Author: 

 Lucy lives in the Forest of Dean in the UK with her lovely husband and Bengal cat, Ziggy. Her novels have been short-listed in the UK’s Festival of Romance and the eFestival of Words Book Awards. Lucy won the 2013 UK Festival of Romance: Innovation in Romantic Fiction award.

 

Follow Lucy:

 

Twitter: @LucyColemanAuth

 

Facebook: @LinnBHaltonAuthor

 

About the Book:
The feel-good read of 2019, perfect for fans of Lucy Diamond and Karen SwanBestselling

 

Brianna Middleton has won the hearts of millions of readers with her sweeping – and steamy – love stories. But the girl behind the typewriter is struggling…. Not only does she have writer’s block, but she’s a world-famous romance author with zero romance in her own life.

 

So the opportunity to spend the summer teaching at a writer’s retreat in an idyllic villa on the shores of Lake Garda – owned by superstar author Arran Jamieson – could this be just the thing to fire up Brie’s writing – and romantic – mojo?

 

Brie’s sun-drenched Italian summer could be the beginning of this writer’s very own happy-ever-after…

 

Escape the January blues with this sun-drenched, heart-warming story from the bestselling author of Snowflakes Over Holly Cove. What readers are saying about Lucy Coleman…

Where to Buy:

Amazon: https://amzn.to/2M9bQFF

Kobo: http://bit.ly/2RpOXDQ

iBooks: https://apple.co/2Md3soU

Google Play: http://bit.ly/2Mba8DC

My Review: 

 
Brie is an author who is struggling after a breakup from Paul and right from the beginning, Lucy Coleman gets us inside Brie’s head, but not just with relationship-themed thoughts however. We see her plight as an author which, since I myself have drafted various books over the years, found incredibly interesting and I was absorbed by it. I love her character. She is so honest, sensitive, realistic but strong and likeable.

As someone who has their own writing process, I identified with the struggle to find a writing-life balance. Brie gives some useful life advice as she fights against her oen personal demons with the help of her great friend Mel, who I liked also as I found she was so supportive and enjoyed seeing how she helped Brie love herself again. Makeovers and clothes are my thing, so I was hooked and, as a person whose own weight has yoyoed over the years and who decided to make the right choices regarding food and exercise, I found myself cheering out loud as Brie started to focus less on Paul and more on her self care goals.

When her publisher/ agent suggests a writing retreat, Brie isn’t sure. She’s used to her “style of life” – writing for hours and lounging in her PJs in her cosy cottage. But, she’s convinced that if she made one change she can make another and so finds herself on a plane to Italy and staying at a beautiful villa on the shores of Lake Garda. It’s not just any villa, but the home of author Arran. Genres and lives merge here and it’s clear to see that that is a good place to start with the conversation when they first meet. As with all great books, I will leave this review up to the reader’s imagination and just say that I adored this book so much. I felt like, in Brie, Lucy Coleman really epitomised what it is like to seriously get down to it and write a book, whether it gets published or not.

The ins and outs of Brie’s writing process gave this book an edge that no other romance has. It is not slushy. It is not predictable. It is so realistic and in Brie, I saw myself. The passion for writing, the meticulous process and the relaxation in the pampering. The thrill of reinventing yourself. I felt like I was traveling with Brie in more ways than one, learning more about another’s writing proccess although she was a character in a book. To me, she and Arran were so real.

Summer on the Italian Lake is fun, realistic and relaxing. I have mever been on any writing retreat (except a virtual one in the form of NaNoWriMo) and I loved sharing in Brie and Arran’s life. Italy comes to life and I loved it when Brie and Arran were involved in organisung the retreat and even more when Brie helped out……

As a lot of this is about writing and the writing process, I am not sure it is a book for everyone who likes, and is expecting, a clear-cut romance. Because it’s not. I definitely feel it will appeal more to you if you are an author or dabbling in writing yourself.

Summer on the Italian Lake is the third book by Lucy Coleman that I have reviewed after A French Adventure and Snowflakes over  Holly Cove.

As with any book with a setting in Italy, the food and scenery are spectacular. There’s a whole host of different characters (both characters in this book as well as Brie’s romances and Arran’s history books) to add richness to the plot. As with all of Lucy Coleman’s novels, you will fall in love with this. I know I did.

Huge thanks to Lucy Coleman and Aria for my ARC in exchange for an honest and voluntary review and I’m thrilled to be on the blog tour for this book. 5 stunning stars. I cannot wait to review more by Lucy Coleman.

To finish this post, here’s an extract from this wonderful book!

Just being around Paul was intoxicating at first because he was so attentive and it made me feel special. Until the paparazzi started snapping less than flattering photos, which seemed to prove I didn’t have one single good angle on me. Or a way of getting out of a car elegantly, even though by then I was a whole stone lighter. Slowly it began to erode my confidence whenever I was out and about with him.
Then, to my shame, the press started comparing me to Paul’s former girlfriends. They even congratulated him on the fact that the size of a woman’s thighs clearly didn’t bother him. I mean, how dare they? Amply proportioned was one of the terms used and that was only the start of the fat-shaming. But I wasn’t fat. I was a size twelve for goodness’ sake, and I’m never going to be stick thin. Nor do I want to be. But freedom of speech is a dangerous thing and it was impossible to stem the flow, or even correct the lies.
Worse was to come and that’s when I began reaching for the family size chocolate bars. For the first time in my life I regretted not writing under a pen name. As soon as Paul introduced me to someone and they heard the name Brianna Middleton, I swear their eyes would open wide in surprise.
‘Not the author?’ They’d query. Or, ‘Really?’ with that little lift in their voice implying I wasn’t what they were expecting at all.
If I thought that was bad, what happened next was a disaster. The name calling and trolling on Twitter sent me into panic mode. The whole world could see these very personal attacks and virtually all of them were about my appearance.
‘Have you seen the latest?’ I’d screeched down the phone at Mel one morning in a traumatised state.
‘No. But it’s only jealousy, Brie, anyway. They’re the ones who look pathetic and you shouldn’t take it to heart.’ Her empathy had been real, but her grasp of the situation was tenuous.
‘Okay – and I quote: “Seriously??? She needs a stylist… Poor Paul.” Then someone named CutieSue: “Another clinger-on. Book sales must be down lol!” Even the guys, MDR53 says: “Dude, what’s happening – is this a joke? Sizeable ass going on there.” And this! Pussykins1982: “Who do you think you are, lady? One burger too many in that dress.” There are whole threads, laughing and joking over the footage of me getting my coat caught in that revolving door! Someone has even posted a video clip of it on a continual loop set to music.’ I’d gasped, as my lungs ran out of air and I began to hyperventilate.
The clip made it look like I was simply too wide to get through the doorway because of the angle. The reality was that the hem of my coat jammed between the inner and outer revolving walls and the mechanism ground to a halt. With five paparazzi snapping away the other side of the glass, and my face getting redder by the moment as I tugged and tugged, it wasn’t a pretty sight.
Mel had been speechless and all she could do was to try and calm me down, saying eventually the haters would tire and I’d become old news.
I got it. Paul was a heartthrob; meltingly gorgeous and he only had to roll out of bed in the morning, grab a wrinkled T-shirt off the floor and he looked amazing. Even better when he forgot to shave, which he often did because he knew it made women’s jaws drop. It’s too easy for men, isn’t it?
Me? Well, I kept up my daily exercise regime to convince myself I was on the right track. But, once more, my cupboard was brimming over with the very things I knew I shouldn’t be eating.
I was also back and forth to the beauty salon waxing bits of me I hadn’t glanced at in a long while and wearing the weirdest nail combos going. Blingy bits aren’t really me and it was an utter nightmare typing, letting alone pulling up my leggings. But I felt the need to make myself better in some way to justify Paul’s attention. The irony was that he didn’t seem aware of the agonies I was going through. He seemed to like me the way I was, but I didn’t like me the way I was and neither did the haters, or the press.
I felt a little like Cinderella. The excitement of being a part of Paul’s life was rather like going to a big party you’ve been looking forward to for ages. As the night draws to a close, though, you simply want to crawl under the duvet and sleep for hours and hours. I ran out of steam. The negativity overwhelmed me and I stopped trying. In fact, I did the reverse. It wasn’t one slice of cake, it was the whole cake and it showed. Quickly I gained back the stone in weight that I’d lost and added another eight pounds to that. My daily jog was now a slow walk.

Follow Aria

Website: http://www.ariafiction.com

Twitter: @aria_fiction

Facebook: @ariafiction

Instagram: @ariafiction


 

Advertisements

Author: Katherine

Hi, I'm Katherine! I'm 36 years old and I've loved the written word all my life. I decided to create a dedicated book blog to share my NetGalley reviews with the world. I read anything that interests me. One of my favourite genres is fiction, although I also love true love stories and non-fiction. Fantasy and scifi are also genres that I choose when reading. In fact, I have been a complete Trekkie since I was 11 years old, I don't let anything spoil my joy of reading, and despite living with the disabilities of cerebral palsy and hydrocephalus that I was born with, I always find adaptive ways to allow me to enjoy my books. I absolutely love my Kindle reading app on my iPad and iPhone! When I am not listening to a Kindle e-book, I can be found writing my own books and I hope to one day be a published author. One of my other talents is that I am bilingual in English and Spanish. I have a weakness for marshmallows, and a love of cats and horses.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s