The Island by Mary Grand @authormaryg @rararesources

About the Book:


The Island – where everyone knows everyone, and secrets are impossible to keep…
‘Be careful, you don’t know them as well as you think. Remember – anyone can kill.’
Juliet has returned to the Isle of Wight from years abroad to visit her sick father and to be reunited with her three sisters – Cassie, a professional musician who seems to have lost her way in life, Mira, who is profoundly deaf, is married to the local vicar but their relationship is falling apart, and Rosalind, glamorous and charming but now deeply unhappy and secretive about her life. 
As Juliet’s father lies dying, he issues her with a warning. There is a killer on the loose, and they may be closer than she can ever imagine. He anxiously tells Juliet that he confided a family secret in son-in-law Rhys, and now regrets ever saying a word.
Days later, as the clock strikes one in the morning, a man comes out of Rhys’s church, walks along the path and is run down by a car driven by an unidentified person. When the finger of suspicion points to Juliet, she realises the only way to clear her name is to uncover the secrets her family has been keeping from her for years. But with a killer on the loose, danger is getting closer all the time…
The Island  is set on the Isle of Wight – insular,  claustrophobic, and where secrets are hard to keep. Mary Grand’s heart-stopping who-dunnits are perfect for fans of Louise Candlish. Agatha Christie and Lucy Foley.

Where to Buy: https://amzn.to/2OJXBwQ

About the Author:


Mary Grand is the author of five novels and writes gripping, page-turning suspense, with a dark and often murderous underside. She grew up in Wales, was for many years a teacher of deaf children and now lives on the Isle of Wight where her new novel, The House Party, which was published by Boldwood in August 2020, is set.

Contact Mary:


Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/authormarygrand
Twitter: https://twitter.com/authormaryg
Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/maryandpepper/
Newsletter Sign Up Link: https://bit.ly/MaryGrandNewsletter
Bookbub profile: https://www.bookbub.com/authors/mary-grand

My Review:

The Island is my second novel by Mary Grand, the last one was The House Party which I loved. I went into The Island expecting great things, and that’s what I got. Mary Grand is such a brilliant suspenseful thriller author and I was lured into the plot about three sisters: Cassie, Mira and Rosalind who have very different lives.

Juliet has been abroad for years and her father is sick. There’s a killer on the loose, he says.

Then, after a sudden murder for which Juliet is blamed, a hunt for the culprit begins. Could Juliet really kill? Or was it one of her sisters, each of who has problems of her own?

I love how Mary Grand uses the setting of the Isle of Wight as she makes it at once welcoming then sinister and scary. I had shivers running down my spine and was hooked on the plot.

What I enjoyed about the characters was that each sister was very realistically portrayed. Cassie is a musician, Mira is married to the vicar but their marriage is on the rocks.

I was pleased, as a fellow person with disabilities, that Mary Grand has created Mira, who is profoundly deaf. I think there aren’t enough books with characters with disabilities in them and I am an advocate for any book that portrays disability well.. I found my awareness and understanding of living with deafness improved through this book too.

Rosalind is glamorous but unhappy.

The setting, plot and pace of writing combined to make this novel a hit in my opinion, and I can’t wait to review more Mary Grand novels. She is now one of my favourite authors for thrillers.

The Island is utterly compelling. Highly recommended.

Thanks to Mary Grand, Boldwood Books and Rachel’s Random Resources for my ARC in exchange for an honest and voluntary review.

5 stars.

Author: Katherine

Hi, I'm Katherine. Words have been a passion of mine for years. Books are my go-to way to relax. I am a hopeless romantic as well as a book, fashion and beauty fanatic. I am addicted to purple (even my electric wheelchair is purple). I live with Spastic Quadriplegic Cerebral Palsy and Hydrocephalus and am registered legally blind due to multiple visual impairments. I have been blogging (with the aid of assistive technology) since 2014 as I wanted a space for my musings on the Internet. Here, you'll find book, makeup and beauty product reviews writing-related posts as well as general chats about life. So feel free to join me. Because life is beautiful.

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.