One Day Blog Blitz: The Ticklemore Treasure Trove by Liz Davies. @LizDaviesAuthor @rararesources

About the Book:


Nell Chapman has always assumed that one (or the other) of her twin sons would help run her antique shop once they finished university. The boys, however, have other plans, when they announce they’re going backpacking for a year, leaving Nell feeling bereft and lonely.
Not only that, but with their father (her lying, cheating ex-husband) back on the scene and demanding half of the business, there might not be anything left for her boys to help manage when they return.
However, she hasn’t counted on the unexpected support of local landscape artist, Silas Long. And neither has she considered the possibility she might fall in love again – especially since Silas is so distant and moody, and has his own cross to bear.
Should Nell take a chance and risk her heart, or should she leave well alone? And why has Silas painted her portrait if he doesn’t feel anything for her?
A perfect romantic read for fans of Heidi Swain and Sarah Morgan


Where to Buy:

http://mybook.to/TicklemoreTreasure

About the Author:


Liz Davies writes feel-good, light-hearted stories with a hefty dose of romance, a smattering of humour, and a great deal of love.
She’s married to her best friend, has one grown-up daughter, and when she isn’t scribbling away in the notepad she carries with her everywhere (just in case inspiration strikes), you’ll find her searching for that perfect pair of shoes. She loves to cook but isn’t very good at it, and loves to eat – she’s much better at that! Liz also enjoys walking (preferably on the flat), cycling (also on the flat), and lots of sitting around in the garden on warm, sunny days.
She currently lives with her family in Wales, but would ideally love to buy a camper can and travel the world in it.
Social Media Links –
Website: https://lizdaviesauthor.wixsite.com/home
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/LizDaviesAuthor1
Twitter https://twitter.com/lizdaviesauthor

My Review:

Nell and Riley were once very much in love and their twin sons were the centre of their world. The twins are now twenty one and their father’s economic support has stopped.

Nell loves her antique shop and finding unusual items at boot sales.

Her love for her sons is unconditional and powerful, so what will she do when they decide to take a year out? She assumes it will be round Europe but it turns out they want to go further afield.

I am not a mother yet but I really felt for her as she got this news.

Silas has had a tragedy in life with the loss of his three year old daughter.

Ticklemore is a quaint place with an interesting array of businesses (I loved the name of Nell’s shop and also the bookshop-Bookalicious). The people are so friendly and open too. Hattie is not a person to be messed with but runs the village café with love and dedication and likes to talk to customers.

Liz Davies immediately hooked me with The Ticklemore Treasure Trove. Her attention to detail is excellent and she is excellent at stirring up emotions and allowing the reader to feel what each character does so deeply.

The novel is humbling, moving and so true-to-life. I just wanted to hug Nell and be there for Silas.

Will she and Silas find love in the year her sons are away? Or will Riley have too much of an evil hold on her still? He already wants his part of what he needs after the divorce.

Silas loves painting and has a studio above his gallery. The fact that both of them have shops in the village meant they wanted to do their bit for the village economy.

Can Nell keep things together for herself without her sons, or will she lose them, the shop and everything she holds dear?

I raced through this and the pace of the writing is as relaxing as being in a quant town you have never visited before.

This is my first visit to Ticklemore and I didn’t want to “leave” or for it to end. It is one of my favourite novels of the year.

I was also glad Nell had her friend Juliet.

Thanks to Liz Davies, Rachel’s Random Resources for my ARC in exchange for an honest and voluntary review.

5 stars.

One Day Blogging Blitz: Primrose Park by Christie Barlow @rararesources

About the Book:


Vet Molly has always been career driven and focussed on caring for her animals, but when she meets a gorgeous Mystery Man at a conference and their connection is off the charts, well, one night off work won’t hurt anyone…except the next morning he’s vanished and all Molly knows about him is his first name.
Three months later, back in Love Heart Lane, everyone loves the story of Molly’s amazing one-night stand.  It’s so unlike her! But when Mystery Man turns up walking his dog through Primrose Park and their night together seems to mean nothing to him, Molly needs her friends and neighbours more than ever. And especially when she’s left with the most unexpected of surprises…


Where to Buy:


UK – https://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B08DR8PGSQ
US – https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B08DR8PGSQ


About the Author:


Christie Barlow is the number one international bestselling author of fifteen romantic comedies including the iconic Love Heart Lane Series, A Home at Honeysuckle Farm and Kitty’s Countryside Dream. She lives in a ramshackle cottage in a quaint village in the heart of Staffordshire with her four children and two dogs.Her writing career has come as a lovely surprise when Christie decided to write a book to teach her children a valuable life lesson and show them that they are capable of achieving their dreams. Christie’s dream was to become a writer and the book she wrote to prove a point went on to become a #1 international bestseller in the UK, USA, Canada and Australia.When Christie isn’t writing she co-presents The Book Show on Radio Northwich, enjoys playing the piano, is a keen gardener and loves to paint and upcycle furniture.Christie is an ambassador for the @ZuriProject alongside Patron of the charity, Emmerdale’s Bhasker Patel. They raise money and awareness for communities in Uganda.Christie loves to hear from her readers and you can get in touch via Twitter, Facebook and Instagram.

My Review:

Christie Barlow is a new-to-me-author and I haven’t reviewed any of her previous books in the series.

I found the pacing good but the events and dialogue were predictable. I did like Molly and her friends and I was surprised that Molly and Cam got on so quickly.

Them getting to know each other was just too quick for me. I was hoping for things to be more slow-burn and for them to get to know each other better.

I was furious with Cam for taking off. That said, the hotel seemed divine and a great place for a work conference.

I did like how Christie detailed the setting, that was great. I really liked Darling the dog although she was a real terror at times. She certainly became a star in the book, she was such a character.

Ten chapters in, and I still wanted more to happen and what was happening to be more detailed. I wanted to get to know Molly more (and Cam: I wondered how much more he was going to be in the story.

I was very interested in the developments in Molly’s life and as I say, I loved her friends and how they were there for her.

I have mixed feelings about this. It’s a slowly developing novel, but what happened did continue to make me curious.

I would be interested in reviewing more of the books in the series.

Thanks to Christie Barlow, One More Chapter and Rachel’s Random Resources for my ARC in exchange for an honest and voluntary review.

3.5 stars.


Contact Christie:


Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/christie_barlow/?hl=en
Twitter @ChristieJBarlow 
Facebook page Christie Barlow author