Blog Tour: Christmas at the Foyles Bookshop (The Foyles Girls #3) by Elaine Roberts

About the Book:

 

With the war raging on, can there be peace, love and joy this Christmas?

London, 1917. After her parents died in a tragic accident, Victoria did everything she could to keep her siblings safe and off the streets. Working at the Foyles Bookshop with her best friends is a dream come true – but now the war has put everything she holds dear in danger.
With her brother fighting on the frontline, Victoria wants to do her part. Little does she know that volunteering to spend time with injured soldiers at Endell Street Military Hospital will reward her in ways she could never have imagined. There are family secrets to uncover, along with love, once lost but never forgotten.
This Christmas, all the Foyles girls want is their loved ones back safe and sound…
The final heartwarming novel in the Foyles Girls trilogy, Christmas at the Foyles Bookshop is perfect for fans of Daisy Styles and Rosie Hendry.
About the Author:  

 

Elaine Roberts had a dream to write for a living. She completed her first novel in her twenties and received her first very nice rejection. Life then got in the way until she picked up her dream again in 2010 and shortly afterwards had her first short story published. Elaine and her patient husband, Dave, have five children who have flown the nest. Home is in Dartford, Kent and is always busy with their children, grandchildren, grand dogs and cats visiting.

Follow Elaine:

Twitter: @RobertsElaine11

Website: writemindswriteplace.wordpress.com

 

 Where to Buy:

iBooks: https://apple.co/2Kv9uk3

Kobo: https://bit.ly/2YERlJV

Google Play:” Amazon: https://amzn.to/2mADXVU

iBooks: https://apple.co/2Kv9uk3

Kobo: https://bit.ly/2YERlJV

Google Play: https://bit.ly/2ohbjda

 

My Review:
Christmas at the Foyles Bookshop is the third book in a trilogy by Elaine Roberts. 
The Foyles Bookshop girls are back. It’s nearing Christmas time at Foyles Bookshop near Charing Cross in London and work colleagues and friends Alice, Molly and Victoria are back at work. 
I have always loved the atmosphere of the iconic bookshop. 
Victoria is the character most focused on in this book. She still hasn’t got over her parents’ death, 7 years before the events of this novel. 
 She has the support of her sister Daisy who she in turn looks after and together they get through life any way they can. 
Victoria is promoted from being in the payment booth to a floor manager and also volunteers at Endell Street Military Hospital. There, she meets Mabel, a friendly nurse who is very upbeat despite the horrific injuries she often witnesses. The ward they are on is only small, but is a vital care facility for the area as is the hospital in general. 
There’s plenty of tea and cakes in this book and this is how Molly and her friends catch up and gossip. 
Molly is back after an accident in the munitions factory she worked in for awhile and her friends are overjoyed to see her. 
Apart from the weather and the book title and cover image, there’s not much “Christmas” in this book until near the end. 
I was hooked by the basement scenes and I too felt the friends’ nervousness at being in such a place, but at the same time it felt to me like a real treasure trove with all those books! 
I felt for Victoria and Daisy as they went through their parents’ things. 
Elaine Roberts has written an interesting final novel in the Foyles Girls series and one thing can be certain: Molly Victoria and Alice can always be counted on to be supportive towards each other whatever happens. 
Christmas at the Foyles Bookshop is a quick, feel-good book set in World War 1 and is about the power of true friends despite huge adversities. There’s love here too as Molly has a boyfriend. Passion for work despite an intimidating and formidable boss and trying to see happiness in life despite the war. 
Thanks to Elaine Roberts and Aria for my ARC in exchange for an honest and voluntary review. I’m glad to have reviewed all 3 books in the series and also been on the blog tours. 
3,5 stars. 

Victoria Appleton’s slender fingers clutched the brown envelope in her coat pocket, while the other hand gripped the wooden handle of her black umbrella. The wind tussled it from side to side, trying to whip it away from her. It was March 1917 and the war was still raging on. No one could see an end to it. The longer it went on, the more she worried she wouldn’t see her younger brother, Stephen, again.

Then there was Ted, the first real love of her life, a love that had never faded over the years. She remembered writing her name and his on any spare bits of paper she could find, and they were always accompanied by lots of hearts. She’d always thought their names were meant to be together, Victoria and Edward Marsden. Practising her signature had brought it all to life until her teenage dream had tragically unravelled. When Ted wrote from the frontline, asking for her forgiveness, she had been thrilled to receive his letter. Her dream had been reignited, but now writing to him just reminded her of what was unobtainable. There had been no messages of love from him.

Perhaps everyone was right, it was time to move on. Victoria reluctantly let go of the envelope, to hold the umbrella steady. Her breath came out in grey wisps, blending into the low clouds. There was no rhythmic patter as the rain pounded against the fabric of the umbrella. She pulled it lower, the icy rain spiking at her face. The puddles and the rivers of water running down Tottenham Court Road were testament that it had been raining all night. Victoria immediately thought about her brother, sitting in the trenches on the frontline. He often wrote about standing up to his ankles in water, with rats for company, as he waited for the Germans to attack them, or for orders to go over the top. She shook her head, shaking away the images she had conjured up. She couldn’t allow herself to think about the war. Since it had begun in 1914, she had only read about death and destruction on the frontline.

The Horseshoe Brewery came into view. Victoria was grateful that the weather had dulled the usual stench from the spent grain left fermenting in the storage bins outside. She quickened her pace as she crossed New Oxford Street. Traders and their barrows were already set up. The aroma of vegetable soup followed her down the road, along with the chorus of voices shouting into the wind, offering their wares. The door to the popular George Tavern, on the corner of George Yard, was ajar as a grey-haired woman wearing a mob cap shook out a piece of rag.

‘Morning luvvie, init miserable today?’

Victoria nodded. ‘It certainly is.’

‘You take care now and mind you don’t catch your death, being out in this.’ The lady nodded and waved her piece of rag around, before disappearing inside the public house.

A smile formed on Victoria’s lips. That was something her own mother would have said to her on a day like this, but she only had her memories to give her comfort now.

Victoria frowned. ‘Get a grip, what’s with all the maudlin thoughts today?’ She shook her head. ‘Right, only happy thoughts from now on.’ Smiling, she looked around and wondered if anybody could hear her talking to herself. Laughter rippled through her as she imagined what Molly would have to say about it. Today was her friend’s first day back at Foyles Bookshop; the three of them were back together again. Despite the cold wet weather, she smiled again. Alice, Molly and herself were like the three musketeers. She giggled as her thoughts started to run away from her. What was the saying? Oh yes, ‘all for one and one for all’.



Follow Aria:


Website: http://www.ariafiction.com
Twitter: @aria_fiction

Facebook: @ariafiction

Instagram: @ariafiction

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.